APOCALYPSESURVIVALIST

Bug Out Bag Backpack: Three Packs, Chosen by Fit, Load and Access

Apocalypse Survivalist is reader-supported. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

Osprey Farpoint 55 Travel Pack — Men's fit, 2026 version, Black (40 L main pack + 15 L detachable daypack)Check price on Amazon

Osprey Farpoint 55 Travel Pack

Pick it if you want to open the whole front of the pack and carry on the hips, with a kit under Osprey's 16 kg (about 35 lb) limit.

Also compared here

A bug out bag backpack should fit your torso, carry on your hips and open wide enough to reach your gear. Our example is the Osprey Farpoint 55, a front-opening framed pack Osprey rates to about 35 lb; the Teton Scout 55L loads from the top and is sized for shorter torsos.

Apocalypse Survivalist · Sources reviewed

Bug out bag backpack beside a wooden bench, with a yellow bottle in its side pocket
Photo: shiwork / Envato

What is it?

A framed travel pack with a hipbelt. Osprey lists 55 L in total, a 40 L main pack plus a 15 L detachable daypack, and the whole front of the main compartment opens.

Who is it for?

An adult building a kit of roughly 15 to 35 lb who wants to reach gear from the front, carry on the hips and look like a traveler rather than a soldier.

How is it used?

Set the adjustable torso length, load your real kit, tighten the hipbelt first and walk with it. The harness and hipbelt zip away when you do not need them.

Manufacturer information, not a hands-on test. Check the sources ↓

Three packs, two kinds of access.

Start with your torso length and the weight of the kit you plan to carry, then compare how you reach your gear.

  1. Osprey Farpoint 55 Travel Pack — Men's fit, 2026 version, Black (40 L main pack + 15 L detachable daypack)
    01

    Osprey Farpoint 55 Travel Pack

    55 L as a 40 L main pack plus a 15 L detachable daypack; LightWire frame and padded hipbelt; front panel opening with lockable sliders; empty weight 1.87 kg (4.12 lb); load range 7 to 16 kg (about 15 to 35 lb).

    Pick it if: you want to open the whole front of the pack and carry on the hips, with a kit under Osprey's 16 kg (about 35 lb) limit.

    What owners and reviewers say

    An owner on a second trip to Europe with it uses the attached daypack for the plane and for walking cities.Owner on r/onebag, 2024 (version not stated)

    "The 55L pack is NOT a 55L pack." The owner explains it is a 40 L bag plus the 15 L daypack.Owner on r/backpacking, 2026

    "The minimal hipbelt padding becomes a little noticeable on extended carries."Outdoors Magic review (version not stated)

    The research behind this page found no test of the 2026 version; these reports describe earlier or unnamed versions.

    Before you choose: One size with an adjustable torso; larger bodies should look at the Extended Fit version. Outdoors Magic found the thin hipbelt padding noticeable on long carries. Outdoors Magic: Farpoint 55 review

    Check price on Amazon
  2. Teton Scout 55L Internal Frame Backpack — 55L, Black, with rain cover
    02

    Teton Scout 55L Internal Frame Backpack

    55 L, top-loading main compartment with a zippered sleeping-bag compartment at the bottom; torso range 15 to 19.5 in; waist belt 26 to 60 in; rain cover included; Teton lists 4.3 to 4.5 lb empty and gives no load rating.

    Pick it if: you have a short to average torso and a light kit you will pack carefully, and a top-loading main compartment is fine with you.

    What owners and reviewers say

    An owner has used it for about five years, on 10 to 12 trips a year, and says it is still in solid condition.Owner on r/CampingGear, 2019 (sold then as the Scout 3400)

    Another owner says it does not tighten to the body, so "you spend a lot of energy with it swaying side to side."Owner on r/CampingGear, 2019 (Scout 3400)

    OutdoorGearLab found the hipbelt and lumbar pad fit "less like a hug and more like wearing an ill-fitting corset."OutdoorGearLab review, 2024

    Most owner reports are about the older Scout 3400 name. The OutdoorGearLab review covers a version with a full-length two-strut frame, and found it more comfortable with less weight.

    Before you choose: Teton calls it a pack for shorter torsos, and there is no wide front opening. OutdoorGearLab, reviewing a Scout with a different frame description from today's listing, found it more comfortable with less weight. OutdoorGearLab: Teton Sports 55L Scout review

    Check price on Amazon
  3. Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Pack — Men's fit, 2026 version, Antique Blue (40 L, no daypack included)
    03

    Osprey Farpoint 40 Travel Pack

    40 L with no daypack included; the same LightWire frame, stowable padded hipbelt and front panel opening as the Farpoint 55; empty weight 1.48 kg (3.27 lb); load range 7 to 16 kg (about 15 to 35 lb).

    Pick it if: your kit fits in 40 L and you want front-panel access and a framed hipbelt in a smaller pack.

    What owners and reviewers say

    An owner built a warm-season go-bag around a Farpoint 40 for a "gray man" look, because camo and tactical gear are uncommon where they live.Owner on r/bugoutbags, 2025 (likely the 2022 version)

    The Prepared calls a laptop sleeve wasted space in a go-bag, and this pack has one.The Prepared guide, 2025

    The owner's pack is likely the 2022 version; the pack listed here is the 2026 version.

    Before you choose: For a kit that fits in 40 L. The Prepared puts most people between 40 and 55 L and fuller kits above 45 L, so lay your gear out first. Osprey gives no torso range for the 2026 version. The Prepared: Bug out bag backpack guide

    Check price on Amazon

Fit the pack.
Then fill it.

Five checks before you choose a backpack.

  1. FitStart with you

    Torso length, hip fit and the exact model’s sizing chart.

  2. LoadPack for the job

    Try the equipment you actually intend to carry.

  3. CapacityLook beyond liters

    Check the usable layout, not just the headline volume.

  4. AccessKnow what is where

    Practice reaching the items you expect to use.

  5. LimitsRead the small print

    Check adjustment, construction and weather protection.

APOCALYPSE SURVIVALIST · CHECKLIST V1
Editorial adaptation of REI selection and fitting guidance. Details and sources below.

A size is not a fit.

  1. 01

    Fit the person first.

    Two packs with the same liter number carry a load differently. Start with the maker's size chart, torso length and hip fit, as REI describes.

  2. 02

    Load it with your own kit.

    Fill it with what you will actually carry, adjust it by the instructions and walk. Check for pressure points and a load that shifts.

The morning you leave with one bag.

The evacuation order comes at 6 a.m. and you have twenty minutes. Somebody is looking for the cat, somebody is looking for a charger, and everything you take has to fit in one bag on your back. A bug out bag backpack is chosen for that walk, which is why the kit comes first and the pack second.

Start with two questions: does it fit your back, and can you reach the headlamp without unpacking dinner?

1. Fit: check torso length first.

REI’s fitting guidance starts with torso length and hip fit rather than overall height. The Osprey Farpoint 55 is one size with an adjustable torso; an Extended Fit version exists for larger bodies. The Teton Scout 55L fits torsos of 15 to 19.5 inches; Teton itself calls it a pack for shorter torsos. Two people of the same height can still need different packs, which is the polite way of saying you cannot just borrow your brother-in-law’s.

2. Load: what the makers rate, and what owners notice.

Osprey rates the Farpoint 55 from 7 to 16 kg, about 15 to 35 lb. Reviewing the 2022 Farpoint 55, Pack Hacker found that the harness helped shift weight from the shoulders to the hips. An owner of an earlier version warns that the pack gets heavy quickly and says the hipbelt helps. Owner report.

Teton publishes no load rating for the Scout. An owner of the older Scout 3400 reported that it could become top-heavy if packed poorly. Owner report.

3. Access: the front door or the chimney.

The whole front of the Farpoint’s main compartment unzips. The Prepared notes that front access lets you reach buried gear without unpacking. The Scout loads from the top, with a separate zippered sleeping-bag compartment at the bottom. Nobody wants to empty the whole bag on a dark roadside to find the one thing that would have helped them see the bag.

4. Capacity: read the 55 carefully.

The Farpoint’s 55 liters are a 40-liter pack plus a 15-liter detachable daypack. An owner of an earlier version calls wearing it with the daypack full on a crowded bus “a comedy”. Owner report. An owner of the older Scout 3400 reported that a Nalgene bottle would not fit in its side pockets. Owner report.

If your kit fits in 40 liters, the Osprey Farpoint 40 keeps the same frame, hipbelt and front opening at 1.48 kg (3.27 lb), without the daypack. One owner, likely using the 2022 version, described a “gray man” approach with it, because camouflage and tactical gear were uncommon where they lived (owner post).

5. Limits: read them before the morning comes.

Outdoors Magic found the Farpoint 55’s thin hipbelt padding noticeable on long carries. OutdoorGearLab compared the hipbelt on the Scout it reviewed to “an ill-fitting corset”.

The pack holds the plan; it is not the plan. For what goes inside, start with the gear checklist. The cat has not read this guide either.

The kit comes before the pack.

Use the gear checklist to work through what you need. Then compare the bag with the load you expect to carry.

Open the gear checklist →
Red hiking backpack with a rolled sleeping mat and trekking pole on grass
Photo: Ravindra rawat / Pexels

Main limitation

Osprey rates it to 16 kg, about 35 lb, which is below a heavy family or winter kit. Pack Hacker reviewed the 2022 version and Outdoors Magic does not name one, so those reviews do not show how the 2026 changes perform.

Questions before you choose.

Is the Farpoint 55 one 55-liter compartment?

No. The main pack holds 40 L; the detachable daypack supplies the remaining 15 L, according to Osprey.

Which one fits a long torso?

The Scout's listed torso range is 15 to 19.5 in, and Teton calls it a pack for shorter torsos. The current Farpoint has an adjustable torso, but Osprey's specifications give no range; the Extended Fit version has a longer hipbelt, not a stated longer torso range.

Can any of them carry water for the whole family?

Check the weight first. Osprey rates both Farpoints to about 35 lb, and Teton publishes no load rating for the Scout. A heavier kit needs a pack whose maker lists a higher load range.

Where the information comes from.

Sources checked . Every product fact on this page comes from the documents below. We have not handled or tested these products ourselves.

  1. Osprey: Farpoint 55 Travel Pack

    Capacity split, empty weight, load range, frame, hipbelt and front panel access.

  2. Osprey: Farpoint 40 Travel Pack

    Capacity, empty weight, load range, frame, hipbelt and front panel access.

  3. Teton: Scout 55L

    Capacity, torso and waist ranges, weight figures, rain cover and pockets.

  4. The Prepared: Bug out bag backpack guide ↗

    Size ranges for most people and why front access matters in an emergency. Updated March 26, 2025.

  5. Pack Hacker: Farpoint 55 review ↗

    Hipbelt and strap comfort, daypack attachment. Covers the 2022 version.

  6. Outdoors Magic: Farpoint 55 review ↗

    Hipbelt padding on longer carries.

  7. OutdoorGearLab: Teton Sports 55L Scout review ↗

    Fit, comfort with weight and access. May 29, 2024.

  8. REI: How to Choose a Backpack

    Capacity, features and fit.

  9. REI: How to Size and Fit a Backpack

    Torso length, hip fit, adjustment order, and trying the pack loaded.

  10. Owner report: HerOneBag ↗

    Individual owner report about an earlier version (2024-06-02); not a test of the current Amazon variant.

  11. Owner report: grandcanyon ↗

    Individual owner report about an earlier version (2022-08-29); not a test of the current Amazon variant.

  12. Owner report: onebag ↗

    Individual owner report about an earlier version (2022-01-31); not a test of the current Amazon variant.

  13. Owner report: CampingGear ↗

    Individual owner report about an earlier version (2019-02-06); not a test of the current Amazon variant.

  14. Farpoint 40 owner: warm-season bugout bag ↗

    Individual owner report, likely the 2022 version; not a test of the current 2026 Amazon variant.

Photos are credited beside each image.

Privacy choices