What is it?
A front-opening travel pack. Osprey lists 40 L, a large front panel that opens like a suitcase, a framed back with a padded hipbelt, and a harness that zips away behind a cover.
Who is it for?
An adult whose packed bug out kit stays under about 35 lb and who wants one pack for trips and for the hook by the door.
How is it used?
Load the laptop first if you carry one, pack the main compartment through the front panel, weigh the packed bag, and zip the harness away for an overhead bin.
The Farpoint 40 can ride the overhead bin in May and wait by the door in November. Before it goes back on the hook, ask who used it last. It was probably your teenager, which explains the beach sand in the bottom.
What it does in a bug out kit
Osprey lists 40 L behind one large front panel that unzips like a suitcase, with lockable sliders. With the whole front open, the first-aid kit does not have to hide under three days of socks.
On the current version the laptop sleeve opens at the top. The Prepared calls laptop sleeves generally a waste of space in a bug out bag. The tablet with the cartoons can stay home.
Weigh the kit before you trust the hipbelt
Osprey lists a load range of 7 to 16 kg, about 15 to 35 lb. The Prepared expects at least 20 to 40 lb of gear in a bug out kit. Put the packed Farpoint 40 on the bathroom scale before you decide.
The current version came out in 2025, sold as the 2026 model. Owners on r/onebag say its hipbelt is shorter and its padding thinner than on the 2024 bag; One Bag Travels found the comfort unaffected.
Will it go as a carry-on?
Osprey says the Farpoint 40 meets US domestic carry-on size requirements at 55 x 35 x 23 cm. On airline pages read October 27, 2026, that is inside the limit for Southwest, British Airways and Air France, right at the 23 cm depth limit for American, Delta, United, Lufthansa and Turkish, and over Ryanair’s paid overhead bag. American, Delta and United list a 9 in depth limit; Osprey lists 9.1 in.
That covers size on paper only, so check the weight and what your fare includes. A packed soft bag can bulge, and the gate agent decides.
The women’s fit: Fairview 40
If the second pack in the hallway belongs to someone who wears a women’s fit, Osprey makes the same pack as the Fairview 40. GearByWomen took the current one on easyJet: it passed as a carry-on, not as a personal item. In their rain test the main compartment stayed dry, while the flapless laptop pocket got a small damp spot.
What owners report
On Ryanair one owner's bag "was rejected as a cabin bag." With the frame pulled out, "the bag fit the sizer."Owner on r/OspreyPacks, May 2025, version not statedRead the r/OspreyPacks thread ↗
On a Delta 737: "full pack works neatly end to end."Owner on r/onebag, August 2025, version not statedRead the r/onebag thread ↗
An owner chose it for a warm-season bug out bag, "considering where I live, camo and tactical gear are not common sights."Owner on r/bugoutbags, June 2025, likely the earlier versionRead the r/bugoutbags thread ↗
None of these owners says which version they have; the bug out bag post is likely about the earlier version.
Pros and cons
Pros
- The whole front opens like a suitcase, with lockable slidersOsprey ↗
- Harness and hipbelt zip away for the overhead binOsprey ↗
- Framed back and a padded hipbelt, which The Prepared wants on any bag over 30 to 35 LOsprey, The Prepared ↗
Cons
- Load range ends at 16 kg (35 lb)Osprey, The Prepared ↗
- Shorter hipbelt, thinner padding on the 2025 versionowners on r/onebag ↗
- Cables sat loose until the tester added a pouchOutdoorGearLab ↗
- Over Ryanair's paid overhead bag depth (23 cm against 20 cm)Ryanair bag policy, read Oct 27, 2026 ↗
Main limitation
Osprey's load range ends at 16 kg, about 35 lb, while The Prepared expects at least 20 to 40 lb of gear in a bug out kit. On flights it is an overhead-bin bag: on paper it is over Ryanair's paid overhead bag and every free under-seat limit in the airline check.
Who should pick a different pack
- Your kit needs more room: the Osprey Farpoint 55 adds a 15 L detachable daypack.
- You want a top loader for a shorter torso: the Teton Scout 55L lists a torso range of 15 to 19.5 in.
Compare all three packs
Load range, capacity and access sit side by side in the bug out bag backpack comparison. Weigh the kit, measure the bin, then choose. And shake out the sand first. Your teenager knows where it came from.
Questions before you choose.
Which Farpoint 40 versions do the reviews cover?
The current version came out in 2025 and is sold as the 2026 model. Pack Hacker and Indie Traveller reviewed the 2022 bag, and OutdoorGearLab and GearJunkie do not say which one they had.
Can it go as a free personal item?
No. It is over every free under-seat limit in the airline check, so plan on the overhead bin. GearByWomen found the same with the Fairview 40 on easyJet.
How much weight can it carry?
Osprey lists a load range of 7 to 16 kg, about 15 to 35 lb. Weigh the packed kit; if it is heavier, pick a pack whose maker lists a range that covers it.
Is there a women's version?
Yes. The Fairview 40 is Osprey's women's fit of the same pack.
Where the information comes from.
Sources checked . Every product fact on this page comes from the documents below. We have not handled or tested these products ourselves.
- Osprey: Farpoint 40 Travel Pack ↗
Capacity, dimensions, carry-on wording, load range, empty weight, front panel, laptop sleeve and harness cover.
- The Prepared: Bug out bag backpack guide ↗
Expected bug out kit weight, access and laptop sleeves. Updated March 26, 2025.
- OutdoorGearLab: Osprey Farpoint 40 review ↗
Comfort and organization. August 4, 2026; version not stated.
- The Gear Sphere: Osprey Farpoint 40 review ↗
Current version: laptop loading and strict budget-airline sizers. July 20, 2026.
- One Bag Travels: Osprey Farpoint 2025 Update (video) ↗
What changed in the 2025 version and how it carries. December 22, 2025; has affiliate links.
- GearByWomen: Osprey Fairview 40 (video) ↗
easyJet cabin check and rain test of the current Fairview 40. April 22, 2026; has affiliate links.
- Owner thread: Farpoint 40, 2024 and 2025 versions compared ↗
Owner comparison of the hipbelt and strap padding (2025-11-20).
- Southwest: carry-on policy ↗
Carry-on size limit, read Oct 27, 2026.
- British Airways: baggage essentials ↗
Cabin bag size limit, read Oct 27, 2026.
- Air France: cabin baggage ↗
Cabin bag size limit, read Oct 27, 2026.
- American Airlines: carry-on bags ↗
Carry-on size limit, read Oct 27, 2026.
- Delta: carry-on baggage ↗
Carry-on size limit, read Oct 27, 2026.
- United: carry-on bags ↗
Carry-on size limit, read Oct 27, 2026.
- Lufthansa: carry-on baggage ↗
Carry-on size and weight limit, read Oct 27, 2026.
- Turkish Airlines: carry-on baggage ↗
Carry-on size and weight limit, read Oct 27, 2026.
- Ryanair: bag policy ↗
Paid overhead bag size, read Oct 27, 2026.