APOCALYPSESURVIVALIST

Osprey Farpoint 55 Bug Out Bag

An Osprey Farpoint 55 bug out bag opens like a suitcase and carries on your hips, which is what you want at 5 a.m. with the car already running. Osprey rates it to about 35 lb, so the family's water may need a second bag.

Apocalypse Survivalist is reader-supported. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

View on Amazon

Opens the Men's fit, 2026 version, Black (40 L main pack + 15 L detachable daypack) version on Amazon.

Capacity
40 L + 15 L daypack
Osprey ↗
Load limit
16 kg (about 35 lb)
Osprey ↗
Empty weight
1.87 kg (4.12 lb)
Osprey ↗
Access
Front panel opening
Osprey ↗

What is it?

A framed travel pack with a hipbelt. Osprey lists 55 L in total, a 40 L main pack plus a 15 L detachable daypack, and the whole front of the main compartment opens.

Who is it for?

An adult building a kit of roughly 15 to 35 lb who wants to reach gear from the front, carry on the hips and look like a traveler rather than a soldier.

How is it used?

Set the adjustable torso length, load your real kit, tighten the hipbelt first and walk with it. The harness and hipbelt zip away when you do not need them.

Main limitation

Osprey rates it to 16 kg, about 35 lb, which is below a heavy family or winter kit. Pack Hacker reviewed the 2022 version and Outdoors Magic does not name one, so those reviews do not show how the 2026 changes perform.

Picture the hallway: one person hunting for the phone charger, one holding a sleepy kid, the car already running. The bag that wins that minute is the one you can open flat on the floor and see everything at once.

What it does in a bug out kit

Osprey lists 55 L as a 40 L main pack plus a detachable 15 L daypack. The whole front of the main compartment opens, so the headlamp at the bottom is not an archaeology project.

Pack Hacker, reviewing the 2022 version, found that the harness and hipbelt shift weight from the shoulders to the hips. Both zip away when you do not need them, and the plain travel look does not shout “supplies inside”.

The 35 lb line

Osprey rates the Farpoint 55 to 16 kg, about 35 lb, and lists an empty weight of 1.87 kg. Weigh your packed kit against that limit. Water for several people or winter gear can push it over, and no amount of clever packing changes the number.

The torso adjusts, but Osprey gives no range. Larger bodies should look at the Extended Fit version, which has a longer hipbelt.

Load it before you need it

Set the torso length, fill the pack with your real kit, tighten the hipbelt first and walk. If it pulls backward or pinches, fix the fit before you add anything else. The hallway at 5 a.m. is a bad place to learn that the straps were never adjusted.

What owners report

The owner reports collected here describe travel, not emergencies, so read them for fit and carry.

An owner on a second trip to Europe with it uses the attached daypack for the plane and for walking cities.Owner on r/onebag, 2024 (version not stated)Read the post ↗

"The 55L pack is NOT a 55L pack." The owner explains it is a 40 L bag plus the 15 L daypack.Owner on r/backpacking, 2026Read the post ↗

"The minimal hipbelt padding becomes a little noticeable on extended carries."Outdoors Magic review (version not stated)Read the review ↗

The research behind this page found no test of the 2026 version; these reports describe earlier or unnamed versions.

Pros and cons

Pros

Cons

Who should pick a different pack

Compare all three packs

Torso range, load limit, capacity and access sit side by side in the bug out bag backpack comparison. Lay your own kit out first, then pick the pack that fits it. The headlamp goes in last, on top, where you can find it.

Questions before you choose.

Is the Farpoint 55 one 55-liter compartment?

No. The main pack holds 40 L; the detachable daypack supplies the remaining 15 L, according to Osprey.

Does the daypack come with it?

Yes. Osprey sells the Farpoint 55 as a 40 L main pack plus a 15 L detachable daypack.

Can it carry water for the whole family?

Check the weight first. Osprey rates it to about 35 lb; a heavier kit needs a pack whose maker lists a higher load range.

Where the information comes from.

Sources checked . Every product fact on this page comes from the documents below. We have not handled or tested these products ourselves.

  1. Osprey: Farpoint 55 Travel Pack ↗

    Capacity split, empty weight, load range, frame, hipbelt and front panel access.

  2. Pack Hacker: Farpoint 55 review ↗

    Hipbelt and strap comfort, daypack attachment. Covers the 2022 version.

  3. Outdoors Magic: Farpoint 55 review ↗

    Hipbelt padding on longer carries.

  4. The Prepared: Bug out bag backpack guide ↗

    Size ranges for most people and why front access matters in an emergency. Updated March 26, 2025.

View on Amazon

Opens the Men's fit, 2026 version, Black (40 L main pack + 15 L detachable daypack) version on Amazon.

Privacy choices